Wildflower Cafe in Mason Serves up Delicious Farm-to-Table Dishes

Every now and then you find a restaurant that, when you walk out, you cannot wait to go back.  Wildflower Café is one of them! I had heard about it over the years, but had no idea of the type of food served.

Wildflower Cafe in Mason, Ohio

Wildflower Cafe in Mason, Ohio

First and foremost, let me say to those who have never gone to Wildflower, I do NOT recommend going without a reservation! It’s just a little farmhouse with not many tables, which allows for a very intimate environment and personal attention, but doesn’t allow for a large number of tables.

When we walked in, the planets must have been aligned properly because others who had been turned away created a table opening for us with only a slight wait. During our wait at the bar I learned that Wildflower, opened in 2007, is owned by a married couple who met in middle school. Without giving away their whole story (I recommend you get on the website as their roots alone make you want to support the restaurant) they began with the basics. They jumped on the farm-to-table, eat local movement before it became trendy.

When it came time to order, I had narrowed it down to two appetizers, three entrees and two desserts that I absolutely had to try. I stalled for more time and ordered a sweet tea.  Instead of sweetening the tea with simple syrup, they use brown sugar. It was fabulous and had just enough sweetness.

Truffled Mushroom Fonduta at Wildflower CafeWe started with Truffled Mushroom Fonduta, which is garlicky (and I do mean garlicky!) made from Sheltowee Farm Mushrooms, local pastured eggs, Snowville cream and salty feta, baked with Ohio Cheddar and Swiss cheese, drizzled with truffle oil and served with toasted Blue Oven bread—one of the best breads I have ever had! Anyway this fonduta was ridiculous! It was an incredibly rich, cheesy, creamy, mushroomy blend combined with the bread that just screamed with flavor. I could have pushed back from the table as it was very filling; however, I forged on to Round Two.

Sheltowee Farm Mushroom Chicken at Wildflower Cafe

Sheltowee Farm Mushroom Chicken at Wildflower Cafe

The entrée I ordered was the Sheltowee Farm Mushroom Chicken which was a sautéed Amish Chicken breast wrapped in puff pastry, over wild mushroom risotto, topped with sautéed wild mushrooms and figs, served with local veggies & garnished with a balsamic glaze. I guess I was in a mushroom mood. Again, FLAVOR, FLAVOR, FLAVOR. The puff pastry was so light and delicate. The balsamic glaze did not compete with the flavors of the chicken, mushrooms and figs and together it was fabulous. My friend ordered the Chicken Club, which I did not taste, however, she said it was wonderful and it too was served on the Blue Oven bread. I really did not want to take that last bite because my meal would be over and I was enjoying it way too much. But, I had something to look forward to—dessert!

I do not even know how to share with you about the desserts. You just have to go experience them for yourself. I am not a big sweets person. Truly, I can take them or leave them and rarely leave enough room. That being said, Wildflower made me rethink this. Since they have a pastry chef that goes in during the wee hours to bake, I knew I would not be disappointed.

I ordered a hazelnut meringue torte with white chocolate chi Grenache, pumpkin butter en glace dusted with nuts. My friend got a sweet potato something or other with this caramel sauce that was to die for. The desserts change daily/weekly. I literally don’t know how I pushed through to finish, but managed to get most of mine down and much of my friends. Seriously, who can not only create, but also bake these masterpieces of art? They were beautiful and so rich! I got so excited when the waiter put them down, that I forgot to take a picture. You have to trust me on this.

Inside of Wildflower Cafe in Mason, Ohio

Inside of Wildflower Cafe in Mason, Ohio

Now the bill. It is a bit pricey. But as they clearly state on the menu and we all know when we go to the organic section of a grocery store, healthy eating ain’t cheap. So I was prepared for a dinner bill for a lunchtime meal. I have to say, it was worth it. It was fresh, it was unique and most importantly, the portions gave the meal value.

Wildflower is really a pearl of a little restaurant. I believe it’s one of our areas best kept secrets. If you want a culinary experience with a warm, fuzzy ambiance, you must dine there. Just remember, call first!

Now, it’s time to go take a nap.

4 responses to “Wildflower Cafe in Mason Serves up Delicious Farm-to-Table Dishes

  1. Pingback: A Food Lover’s Guide to Can’t-Miss Cuisine in Warren County | Stories From the Playground·

  2. Pingback: 5 Great Stops that Hit the Spot | Stories From the Playground·

  3. Pingback: Meet the Chef: Wildflower Café | Stories From the Playground·

  4. Pingback: Fine Dining Favorites in Ohio’s Largest Playground | Stories From the Playground·

Leave a Reply

