Waynesville – So Much More Than Just Antiques!

Downtown Waynesville

Downtown Waynesville

Although Waynesville, located in Warren County, Ohio, was long known as the “Antiques Capital of the Midwest” I ventured out to see if there were treasurers for this city gal who likes things brand new. After exiting I-71 North, I took some country roads, which quickly lead me to the heart of downtown Waynesville.

More than 50 retail stores and restaurants line five blocks on Main Street. Blooming flowers were peeking out of pots, birds were chirping, and the sidewalks were trimmed with bricks.  I decided this would be a park-and-walk adventure.

While eating lunch at Cobblestone Gourmet Café, I planned my afternoon of shopping using the map I printed from the Warren County CVB website. By the way, the food at Cobblestone Café was delicious and healthy, and they went above and beyond with their service! You can read more about Cobblestone Café here.

Colorful rain boots at Class and Sass in Waynesville

Colorful rain boots at Class and Sass in Waynesville

So with map in hand, I began walking south on Main Street. Class and Sass owner, Patty, greeted me as I entered her shop.  Printed rubber boots with heels were displayed in the center of the first room.  These would be fun to wear the next time it rained or to a garden event.  The next room displayed shoes with snap tops that could be changed with each outfit.  Onesole shoes by Quick Change Artist are a must have when traveling, cutting down on trying to decide which shoes to pack. Patty also stocks scarves, purses, jewelry, spiral candles in which the wick burns in a spiral and other great gift ideas. So far in my search for a store with modern fashion and flair, I was having great success!

Next up on my shopping trip, I headed to Wombat Art Works. This two-level, open spaced shop showcased beautiful art as well as one-of-a-kind pieces of jewelry. Debbie Lentz, the owner, informed me about the 30 international, national, and locally known artists who display their works in her showroom.  Included are artists such as John A. Ruthven, wildlife artist; Mark Henn, one of Disney’s top senior supervising animators; and Debbie Lentz, who adds wildlife preservation to her passion for the arts. A particular photo of a hummingbird intrigued me. Being a gardener who has hummingbirds flitting here and there, I enjoyed being able to actually see what a hummingbird looks like.  Overall, I especially enjoyed the expressions of the wildlife art.  They looked like they could just jump out of the canvas.

Wildlife art at Wombat Art Works

Wildlife art at Wombat Art Works

After browsing through the art at Wombat, I stopped in Gravel Hill Gifts to look for a card for my husband. If you need a card for any occasion or a unique cookie cutter, Gravel Hill Gifts is the place to stop as the entire basement was cards and stationery.

Returning to the Cobblestone Village Exquisite Gifts and Home Décor, which is connected to the restaurant, the displays beckoned to me to buy. I found tiny purses that looked like flowers, scarves with metal bangles attached, lotions, soaps, books, lace tablecloths,and bird salt & pepper shakers. One of the clerks pointed out the small lighted tree branches.  Wouldn’t that look nice in my guest room?  Oilcloth purses were unique with sayings like, “Perhaps This Very Instant is Your Time”. And to top it off owner, Brenda Weber is an interior designer.

My last stop was Miss Selby’s Soap & Such. The owner’s mother shared the shop’s origins with me.  It seems her granddaughter has Eczema, so the mother created soaps — made from oils and natural ingredients — that are soothing for this condition.  By the way, the “Such” includes some amazing chocolates!

After an afternoon of strolling the streets of Waynesville, I learned that the town has both antique and unique shopping. Time to gather some girlfriends and head back to Waynesville!

Follow Carol on Google+

3 responses to “Waynesville – So Much More Than Just Antiques!

  1. Pingback: Waynesville – So Much More Than Just Antiques! | Skipping Stars Productions LLC·

  2. Pingback: Shopping Adventures in Warren County | Stories From the Playground·

Leave a Reply

