Delicious Dining at Golden Lamb Restaurant

Anyone who has lived in Cincinnati or the surrounding areas has probably heard of The Golden Lamb in Lebanon. It is a beautiful hotel and restaurant steeped in history and is the oldest continuously operating business in the state of Ohio. The atmosphere combined with the menu and the quality of food they are serving makes for a great dining experience!

The Golden Lamb Restaurant and Inn in Lebanon, Ohio

The Golden Lamb Restaurant and Inn in Lebanon, Ohio

A Golden Lamb Restaurant signature appetizer--Sauerkraut Balls

A Golden Lamb Restaurant signature appetizer–Sauerkraut Balls

Honestly, I went there years ago and remembered the food to be ho-hum. My meal yesterday was anything but, and I was only there for lunch! I decided I wanted to only order their signature dishes so I began with the Sauerkraut Balls. Yep, sounds weird but I had to have them. I have to say, I didn’t taste much sauerkraut, but I did taste horseradish and what I thought was cheese and they were delicious. I could have polished off the whole batch but decided to push back and wait for course two.

The Grilled Salmon Ciabatta sandwich with Brie and garlic aioli at Golden Lamb in Lebanon, Ohio

The Grilled Salmon Ciabatta sandwich with Brie and garlic aioli at Golden Lamb in Lebanon, Ohio

Course two was their signature dish—Grilled Salmon Ciabatta with Brie and a garlic aioli. The bread was toasted with just the right amount of butter and the salmon melted in my mouth. Really, the flavor with the aioli was divine. On top of this wonderful (and enormous I might add!) sandwich were their homemade potato chips that were still warm. Admittedly, I cleaned my plate. Honestly, how could I not? Absolutely sure I did not have room for dessert, the lovely waitress, suggested I try the dessert they had served for “decades” so I had to oblige.

The dessert is called “Sister Lizzie Shaker Sugar Pie.” It is like no dessert I have ever had. It was almost like a sugar cookie crust with crème brulee on top. It was served with fresh whipped cream and a blackberry.

I promised myself I would only eat half. Nope, that didn’t happen. I couldn’t stop myself.

Sister Lizzie's Shaker Sugar Pie at Golden Lamb Restaurant in Lebanon, Ohio

Sister Lizzie’s Shaker Sugar Pie at Golden Lamb Restaurant in Lebanon, Ohio

Here are a couple more little tidbits. They serve homemade yeast rolls that melt in your mouth. Ask for them with a side of apple butter, you won’t regret it! Also, the Black Horse Tavern is attached and located around back. They have live music every Friday and Saturday night with a stocked bar and what looks like a great menu. The night after I was there was a “Beer Dinner” where they pair food with local micro brews, so they must offer special evenings throughout the year (check out the website for their calendar). They locally source their produce when in season. And lastly, did I mention the food was delicious!??

I would suggest you go on a “historical field trip” and while you are there enjoy some great food. It’s definitely on the list of gems we have here in Warren County.

8 responses to “Delicious Dining at Golden Lamb Restaurant

  1. Pingback: A Food Lover’s Guide to Can’t-Miss Cuisine in Warren County | Stories From the Playground·

  2. Pingback: Love it Like a Local | Stories From the Playground·

  3. Pingback: The New Energy of Historic Lebanon | Stories From the Playground·

  4. Pingback: Fine Dining Favorites in Ohio’s Largest Playground | Stories From the Playground·

  5. Pingback: Coming Soon to Ohio’s Largest Playground: A Sneak Peak at What’s New in 2017 | Stories From the Playground·

  6. Pingback: Where to Say ‘Cheers’ In Ohio’s Largest Playground | Stories From the Playground·

  7. Pingback: Meet the Chef: Lebanon’s Iconic Golden Lamb Restaurant & Hotel | Stories From the Playground·

  8. Pingback: Love it Like a Local:  An Expert Opinion | Stories From the Playground·

Leave a Reply

