Love it Like a Local: A Teenager’s Take on Ohio’s Largest Playground

Guest Blogger: Kaya Karp

When I first moved to Warren County a little more than six years ago, I was admittedly uncertain. It was a brand new place with brand new people, and–as is only natural–I wasn’t quite sold at first.

Long story short, it didn’t take me long to fall head-over-heels for this beautiful and always entertaining county I’m now proud to call my home. It’s a great place for thrills, a great place to chill, and a place that’s well deserving of its “Ohio’s Largest Playground” moniker.

From a teen’s perspective, the region boasts a unique blend of small-town charm and big city fun. One day you’re soaring on record-breaking roller coasters, the next you’re reading a book at an old-fashioned, historic ice cream parlor. Regardless of your age and interests, the entertainment options are virtually endless.

King's Islands Eiffel Tower

King’s Islands Eiffel Tower

To this day, I am still in love with Kings Island. Even as I outgrow some of the park’s kiddie rides, shows and costumed characters, special teen and adult-tailored events like Halloween Haunt have kept me hooked throughout my teenage years. The Beach and Great Wolf Lodge (both right down the street from Kings Island) are other great options for high-thrill fun in Mason.

CCP06-APP

Caesar Creek State Park

As I’ve grown to become busier and busier over the years, I’ve also discovered that Warren County is as terrific a place as any to unwind. Caesar Creek State Park, the Little Miami Scenic Trail and Historic Downtown Lebanon are three of the county’s most beautiful areas, and three of my favorite place to just turn off the cell phone, unplug the ear buds and truly get away for a while.

I suppose I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention food, too. Simply put: you’ll never go hungry here. The Banana Leaf in Mason serves up incredibly tasty Thai, while the The Golden Lamb Inn & Restaurant in Lebanon offers a dining experience that’s both historic and delicious in a beautifully decorated, centuries-old hotel. One of the premier dinner theaters remaining in the nation, La Comedia in Springboro makes for a great night out!

Lamb Burger from Lebanon's Golden Lamb

Lamb Burger from Lebanon’s Golden Lamb

Every teen bickers about their hometown from time to time, but I can honestly say that I feel fortunate to have grown up in an area as unique and entertaining as Warren County. Ohio’s Largest Playground has captured my heart over the years, and I’m confident it will do the same for all those who are lucky enough to visit.

Get the inside scoop from another Warren County local!
Love it Like a Local: De-De Bailey

One response to “Love it Like a Local: A Teenager’s Take on Ohio’s Largest Playground

  1. Pingback: Love it Like a Local: All the County’s a Stage | Stories From the Playground·

Leave a Reply

