Conquering the Banshee at Kings Island

Kings Island’s newest coaster, Banshee, is the world’s longest inverted roller coaster, and it’s waiting for YOU in Warren County, Ohio. This twisting, turning, looping and dropping coaster isn’t for the faint of heart, but the reward is a thrilling, exciting and smooth ride from the very first drop to the final inversion.

Banshee at Kings Island in Mason, Ohio

Banshee at Kings Island in Mason, Ohio

Not everyone is a coaster enthusiast, but Banshee is worth the two-minute-40-second ride. Our bloggers took their turn(s) on Banshee, and the reviews are in: Banshee was a hit! Here are a few recaps of the experience from our bloggers:

 

Thumbs up after John's first ride on Banshee

Thumbs up after John’s first ride on Banshee

The Coaster Enthusiast: John S.
I’m the kind of guy who gets really excited about theme parks and roller coasters. I’m talking about the no-sleep-the-night-before kind of excitement. Having the opportunity to ride Banshee at Kings Island was a pretty cool experience and definitely lived up to the hype that began last fall when the coaster was announced to fans everywhere. The ride was as smooth as can be, which was no surprise coming from the makers of Diamondback (which made its highly anticipated debut at Kings Island back in 2008). I specifically loved the track design as well as the number of inversions through which the coaster puts its riders. Banshee tops out at 68 mph although it felt more like 85 while riding! I’ve ridden quite a few roller coasters in my lifetime, but I must say, nothing compares to the experience of riding the Banshee in the front row. This coaster will leave you screaming banshee-style for more as you exit the ride.

Dan K. mentally preparing to conquer Banshee at Kings Island

Dan mentally preparing to conquer Banshee at Kings Island

The Reluctant Rider: Dan K.
My heart was thudding in my ears as I climbed the steps to what was surely my doom. I definitely thought I was going to chicken out before I reached my seat. After all, the name Banshee means “omen of death.” A little dramatic, maybe, but this was my first roller coaster ride in more than 10 years! Everything about Banshee is over the top from misty smoke at the entrance to the banshee wail you hear as you crest the first hill. After all the anxiety, I have to say, Banshee was AMAZING and I screamed the whole time. It was two and a half minutes spent mostly upside down, doing loops and turns that made me glad to be alive by the end. And after the adrenaline rush subsided, I knew for sure, once was enough for me.

Mary looking forward to her ride in the front row of Banshee

Mary looking forward to her ride in the front row of Banshee

The Theme Park Mom: Mary F.
When I told people that, as a grown woman, I rode The Banshee five times in one day, they looked at me a bit concerned. Most followed up with, “so you really like amusement parks, huh?” Well, that would be an understatement. Our family vacation each year is centered around amusement parks – often the biggies in Florida. It is not at all unusual for us to ride our favorite thrill rides 10+ times each over the course of a few days. To keep our adrenaline pumping in between trips, we typically get a season pass to Kings Island. I have always been a fan of steel coasters and the Banshee is a new fave. In the front seat (which I experienced twice), you get an unobstructed view of the hills, spins, and thrills to come. And when I say unobstructed, I mean that you have no seat surrounding you since your feet dangle in the air. Riders toward the back are left guessing more as to what is to come, and the twists and turns felt faster. Regardless of the seat position, this was one of the smoothest coasters I have ever experienced. I’ll definitely be back for more!

Bridget enjoyed the view from the ground up at Kings Island in Mason

Bridget enjoyed the view from the ground up at Kings Island in Mason

The View from the Bottom: Bridget K.
There was a lot of screaming happening on and around the Banshee. From the excited riders to the Banshee scream they pipe out when you get to the top of the first hill, all I could think was, this thing must be terrifying! So terrifying, in fact, that I declined the opportunity to try it out for myself. That’s right, I didn’t get on the ride. Hey, if you’d spent an hour standing below the coaster and watching people flip around and around while screaming their heads off, you might hesitate too! Luckily, I’ll have another chance in the near future because the Banshee isn’t going anywhere. Riders of all ages walked down after their ride with nothing but praise for Kings Island’s newest coaster. I look forward to my next chance to (attempt to) conquer the Banshee!

 

Ride the Banshee at Kings Island in Warren County, Ohio

Ride the Banshee at Kings Island in Warren County, Ohio

Visit our website to book your getaway to Kings Island in Warren County, Ohio, today!